The human skeleton

In addition to supporting the body, the skeleton protects the internal organs and provides support points for muscle fixation.

It consists of bone parts (in all 208 bones in the adult individual) and articulated cartilaginous bones, which form a system of levers moved by the muscles.

The human skeleton can be divided into two parts:

  1. Axial skeleton: formed by the cranial box, spine rib cage (in yellow).
  2. Appendicular Skeleton: comprises the shoulder girdle, formed by the shoulder blades and clavicles; pelvic girdle, formed by the iliac bones (pelvis) and the skeleton of the limbs (upper or anterior and lower or posterior).

Axial skeleton

Skull box

It has the following important bones: frontal, parietal, temporal, occipital, sphenoid, nasal, lacrimal, malar ("cheekbones" or zygomatic), upper jaw and mandible (lower jaw).


  • First In the sphenoid bone there is a depression called the Turkish saddle where one of the smallest and most important glands in the human body is found - the pituitary gland, in the geometric center of the skull.
  • Second - Fontanela is the name given to the upper and middle region of the child's head, which facilitates its passage through the birth canal; after birth it will be replaced by bone.